Election Districts.

STATE CONGRESSIONAL

First District.—The counties of San Diego, Low-Angeles, San Bernardino, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Tulare, Monterey, Fresno, Merced, Mariposa, Inyo, Kern, Stanishus, Santa Clara, Santal Cruz, San Mateo, and San Francisco.

Second District.—The counties of Contra Costa, Alameda, San Joaquin, Tuolumue, Mono, Calaveras, Amador, El Dorado, Sacramento, Placer, Nevada, and Alpine.

Third District.—The counties of Marin, Sonoma, Napa, Lake, Solano, Yolo, Sutter, Yuba, Sierra, Butte, Plumas, Tehama, Colusa, Mendocino, Humboldt, Trinity, Shasta, Siskiyou, Lassen, Klamath, and Del Norte.

At the election for Presidential Electors, in the year 1868, and at the general election every two years thereafter, there shall be elected from each district one Representative to the Congress of the United States.

JUDICIAL.

Fourth District.—All of that part of the city and county lying north of Ridley and Market streets, and west of Kearny Street.

Twelfth District.—All lying south of Ridley and Market streets and San Mateo County.

Fifteenth District.—All lying north of Market and east of Kearny streets and Contra Costa County.

CITY AND COUNTY.

First Ward.—Bounded by Washington Street on the south, Kearny Street on the west, and the Bay of San Francisco on the north and east, including the islands in the bay.

Second Ward.—Bounded by Kearny Street on the east, Vallejo Street on the south, Larkin Street on the west, and the Bay of San Francisco on the north.

Third Ward.—Bounded by Washington Street on the north, Kearny Street on the west, California Street on the south, and Market Street and Bay of San Francisco on the east.

Fourth Ward.—Bounded by Vallejo Street on the north, Kearny Street on the east, Washington Street on the south, and Larkin Street on the west.

Fifth Ward.—Bounded by California Street on the north, Kearny Street on the west, and Market Street on the south and east.

Sixth Ward.—Bounded by Kearny Street on the east, Pine Street on the south, Larkin Street on the west, and Washington Street on the north.

Seventh Ward, District No. 1.—Bounded by Howard Street on the south, Second Street on the west, Market Street on the north, and the waters of the bay on the east.

Seventh Ward, District No. 2.—Bounded by Harrison Street on the south, Second Street on the west, Howard Street on the north, and waters of the bay on the east.

Eighth Ward, District No. 1.—Bounded by Post Street on the south, Larkin Street on the west, Pine Street on the north, and Kearny Street on the east.

Eighth Ward, District No. 2.—Bounded by Market Street on the south, Larkin Street on the west, Post Street on the north, and Kearny Street on the east.

Ninth Ward.—Bounded by Harrison Street on the north, Seventh Street on the west, and the bay of San Francisco on the east.

Tenth Ward, District No. 1.—Bounded by Market Street on the north, Second Street on the east, Howard Street on the south, and Fourth Street on the west.

Tenth Ward, District No. 2.—Bounded by Harrison Street on the south, Fourth Street on the west, Howard Street on the north, and Second Street on the

Tenth Ward, District, No. 3.—Bounded by Howard Street on the south, Seventh Street on the west, Market Street on the north, and Fourth Street on the east.

Tenth Ward, District No. 4.—Bounded by Howard Street on the north, Fourth Street on the east, Harrison Street on the south, and Seventh Street on the west.

Eleventh Ward, District No. 1.—Bounded on the east by Seventh Street to Mission Creek, on the south by Mission Creek and Sixteenth Street to Dolores Street, and on the west by Dolores Street to Market Street, and westerly and northerly by Market Street to Seventh Street.

Eleventh Ward. District No. 2.—Bounded on the north by Sixteenth Street to Dolores Street, on the east by Dolores Street from Sixteenth Street to Bidle ley Street, on the north by Ridley Street and a direct line to the Pacific Ocean, on the west by the Pacific Ocean, on the south by San Mateo County line, on the east by San Bruno Road, on the north by Setpentine Avenue from the San Bruno Road to Folsom Street, thence on the east by Folsom Street to Sixteenth Street.

Eleventh Ward, District No. 3.—Bounded on the north by Mission Creek and Sixteenth Street to Felsom Street, on the west by Folsom Street to Serpentine Avenue, on the south by Serpentine Avenue from Folsom Street to the San Bruno Road, thence along the San Bruno Road to Precita Creek, on the south by Freeita Creek, and easterly and northerly by the waters of the bay to Mission Creek.

Eleventh Ward, District No. 4.—Bounded on the west by the San Bruno Road to San Mateo County, on the south by the line of San Mateo County to the bay, thence easterly and northerly by the waters of the bay and Precita Creek to the San Bruno Road.

Twelfth Ward, District No. 1.—Bounded by Larkin Street on the east, Bush Street on the south, the Pacific Ocean on the west, and the Bay of San Francisco on the north.

Twelfth Ward, District No. 2.—Bounded by Bush Street on the north, Larkin Street on the east, Market Street to Ridley Street, and Ridley Street in a direct line to the Pacific Ocean on the south, and the Pacific Ocean on the west.

Police Department.*

Chief of Police .- PATRICK CROWLEY.

Commissioners. — Mayor ex officio President Board of Supervisors, Police Judge, and Chief of Police.

Captains of Police.—Isuiah W. Lees, Patrick R. Hanna, William Y. Douglass, and James McElroy.

*Number of Captains provided by law, four; salary, \$1,800 per annum, each; number of policemen limited by \$1,800 per annum, each; number of policemen limited of any of Chief's Clerk, \$1,800 per annum, in modification of the property of the Department, there are a number of local officers deputized for duty in particular sections of the city, who are paid by the owners of property on their respective beats.